Home » Other » Marketplace » market for oracle apps dba - seniors please advice
market for oracle apps dba - seniors please advice [message #271578] Tue, 02 October 2007 01:58 Go to next message
gautamvv
hi all

I need a very important piece of advice from all the seniors .
I have been working in plsql since the last 2 years..

Now how easy is to me to shift to oracle apps dba role?
I have a generic idea about oracle dba...the roles and responsibilities, but have no idea about apps dba.

can anyone please throw some light on my following doubts

1) how far my knowledge in plsql will help me in learning apps dba?

2)how is the market for apps dba in USA? I will be moving to US pretty soon...

3) Any online help / documentation available?

4) most importantly, i have been informed that the pay for my
existing skill sets (plsql, unix) is quite low in the US, and so i have
to shift to other technologies like datawarehousing or apps dba
or oracle apps as such..

and ofcourse after 10 years down the line, i dont want to look
back and think " all i have worked is plsql alone !"

so i need to learn a technology which would help me to earn more
and at the same time..is somehow related to my knowledge in sql
and plsql...i feel oracle apps dba might be the right choice..

I need an honest feedback from all the seniors here, cause finally, it is me who has to take the decision, and this decision would decide my future in the US.

Re: market for oracle apps dba - seniors please advice [message #271600 is a reply to message #271578] Tue, 02 October 2007 03:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Arju

1) A little.
2)Joy_division knows better.
3) Oracle Documentation.
Re: market for oracle apps dba - seniors please advice [message #271697 is a reply to message #271600] Tue, 02 October 2007 09:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
MarcL