Home » Other » Community Hangout » Can I vent?
Can I vent? [message #179542] Tue, 27 June 2006 21:09 Go to next message
nightangel73
Sorry for disrupting you guys but I kind of feel depressed and I guess I want some support. I am what you guys may call a frustated IT gal. Here is my story in short. When I was in college I made a mistake, well i didn't knew better back then and i graduated with a degree in science (microbiology). After working in the labs for a couple years I realized that I choose the wrong career and that what i want to be is an IT professional. I really discovered when I was in third year of college and didn't knew I was going to like them that much. Well so I decided to work on a plan to become an IT professional. I decided to do a master degree in information systems. I worked full time and studied. At the end of my degree and working hard on making conections with the IT fellows I managed to get out of doing labwork and do more of a computer administration work for the laboratory. I was very happy with the job. VERY HAPPY. Well I was living in my home country Puerto Rico then and I wanted to move to the live for the rest of my life in america. I thought once I finish my graduate degree was going to be a good time. I moved to the US and applied for jobs and I found many jobs all of them doing laboratory work and nothing of computers. For computer jobs I fall into the lack of experience category. So I continued working in the labs each day hating it more. I switched company to a bigger one in the hopes I may reach the IT department. I sold my old car to one of the IT managers of the company so at least I got some attention to be seriously considered for an IT position and well he told me in a nice way that the degree is not enough, that I need more skills. He suggested I could try to have a consultant position which I can't take because I can't have a traveling job like that. I felt like throwing the towels when he talked to me but since I truly