Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Sorting a trace file using TKPROF
Sorting a trace file using TKPROF [message #155104] Thu, 12 January 2006 07:23 Go to next message
guyj
Hi All,

I’m new to oracle performance tuning. Now I want to optimize a query which is taking more than 1 ½ hours to finish. Can anyone tell me what is the best sort option I should follow when I’m using TKPROF.
Re: Sorting a trace file using TKPROF [message #155121 is a reply to message #155104] Thu, 12 January 2006 08:32 Go to previous messageGo to next message
orausern
You should be familiar with many concepts of tuning..but anyway, first make sure that all objects in the query are having current statistics..if you are responsible for collecting statistics, then , do it by using dbms_stats package.
(e.g. to gather statistics on SCOTT schema, use from sql prompt:
exec dbms_stats(ownname=>'SCOTT',cascade=>TRUE)

Then check whether the query is written correctly..whether there are indexes on the tables that are getting utilized or not..you can post that query here so others can see what it is and look into.

Re: Sorting a trace file using TKPROF [message #155123 is a reply to message #155104] Thu, 12 January 2006 08:36 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank Naude
It depends on what you want. If CPU is a problem, you may want to specify "execpu". If disk reads is the problem, you may want to use "exedsk". Etc.
Re: Sorting a trace file using TKPROF [message #155130 is a reply to message #155104] Thu, 12 January 2006 08:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
guyj
Thanks for the response. i'll send you the first part of the trace file. used fchela as the sort option. i have gathered statistics on that schema as well. Application runs on Oracle 9i database but i'm using oracle 10g TKPROF to convert it.

Re: Sorting a trace file using TKPROF [message #155134 is a reply to message #155130] Thu, 12 January 2006 09:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
orausern
The file shows: