Home » Developer & Programmer » Precompilers, OCI & OCCI » Newbie with a question.
Newbie with a question. [message #94342] Thu, 12 August 2004 07:10 Go to next message
Radhika
I'm new to PRO*C development and am having trouble following a tutorial. Could anyone please help me with the following questions?

(1) What exactly is a MACRO? I was told that we use #define to define constants and macros. However, I'm not sure what a MACRO is?!

(2) I have a variable defined to be

static NUMSTR  empdtls="";

I understand that defining a variable as STATIC is akin to making it public. Why do we have the "" here? What is a NUMSTR type of variable?

(3) Is TABLE a PRO*C reserved word? I have the following definition:

table(T_DEFINE,1,13,73,NULL);
table(T_DEFINE,5,1,5,38,40,43,45,48,50,53,55,58,60,63,
65,68,NULL);
table(T_BEGIN,1);

How do I interpret this code?

(4) if ( !mode )
{
EXEC SQL OPEN cursor_001;
POSTORA;
}

The term 'mode' however is NOT defined ANYWHERE!!!!! What exactly is happening here?

Thanks for your time and help. I would also appreciate any links to a good PRO*C tutorial.

Re: Newbie with a question. [message #94343 is a reply to message #94342] Thu, 12 August 2004 09:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
RBARAER
I fear I will not be able to help you on PRO*C, but I can help you find documentation. If you're working with an Oracle 9i Database, go here : "http://www.oracle.com/technology/documentation/oracle9i.html", and download the whole Oracle 9i documentation : "Oracle9i Database Release 2 Documentation Library" (there is also a link to 10g doc). You will find documentation and a Pro*C tutorial in "Pro*C/C++ Precompiler Programmer’s Guide" (open "booklist.pdf" once the download is completed).

I hope this will help you,

RBARAER
Re: Newbie with a question. [message #94347 is a reply to message #94342] Mon, 16 August 2004 23:40 Go to previous message
Jai Vrat Singh