Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Unexplained SQL Slowness (AWR Supplied) (Oracle 11.2.4.0, Linux)
Unexplained SQL Slowness (AWR Supplied) [message #644114] Wed, 28 October 2015 05:31 Go to next message
ganna76
Hi All,

I am a developer who has to live without DBA rights, struggling to diagnose the reasons behind some very slow performance on our Oracle 11.2.0.4 database.

Background: We are in the middle of an application upgrade.

* Old environment runs v6 of a vendor product on Oracle 10.2.0.4.
* New environment runs v8 of a vendor product on Oracle 11.2.0.4.

All sorts of queries seem to be slower in the new environment. But as a simple example, we have a table TASSET which has about 120,000 rows in each environment (slightly more in Old). Sample query:

select count(*) from TASSET where DESCRIPTION like 'Swiss%';

In the Old environment it takes about 3 seconds. In the New environment it takes anywhere between 25 seconds and 210 seconds. They return a similar number of rows (111 v 121).

I have gathered stats in new UAT... I gathered them against a 100% sample size out of desperation but no difference.

Neither table has an index on the DESCRIPTION column so I'm aware this isn't efficient, however I cannot work out why it should be relatively so much slower in New. Note users also intermittently report slowness with all sorts of other tables, so (to me) it points to something more fundamental being wrong. The project has to wait weeks to get time from a DBA so I have my hands tied with much of the investigation, as I cannot perform many of the checks you would no doubt ask me to check before coming here for help.